Lost in a sweaty pit of Girl Talk

The other night I went to see Girl Talk. It was an incredible frenzy of folks just dancing their hearts out, besides the one guy towards the end of the show who decided to walk into the midst of the crowd and stand next to me and not move at all.

At first glance I thought, this crowd is way too hip, and young, for me. After Gregg Gillis opened with a Three Six Mafia song, I thought, I’m way too gangsta for this crowd, it’s goin down.

Girl Talk is probably one of the single greatest inventions of our time. Gillis basically plays all of your favorite/guilty pleasure songs and mashes them up with an even better song that has a dance beat. His style of DJ’ing brought together 500 people to a sold out venue in Little Rock. Now if that dude can’t change the world, I don’t know who can.

I know not everyone likes Girl Talk but you’ve got to admit that what he does is pretty sweet. A Girl Talk show is one place where mob mentality is a good thing. It could very easily go awry, but for the most part everyone dances because everyone else is dancing. No one has to feel ashamed because they can’t dance well b/c the fact is there are about 100 other white kids in there that can’t dance half as good as you. Also it’s pretty packed so unless you’re being obnoxious there’s no time to focus on your terrible moves.

I won’t say this is the best show I’ve been too ever but I will say it was the most crowd participatory show I’ve ever been too. For that, it ranks high on my list of favorite shows. I give mad props to Girl Talk.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*