Theater of the Mind

The new album by Ludacris, not the most compelling album art.

The new album by Ludacris, not the most compelling album art.

I really didn’t know this album was coming out, but when I discovered it was, figured I’d eventually get my hands on it. Well I did, and it’s good. Not great, but good. Most of the tracks reflect Ludacris’ typical style. There are a few that have the production style of the Brooklyn hip hop scene. Gotta say, I love that style of production, the sped up old recordings, that almost low tech sound, but I’m not sure it suits Luda. He does a great job rapping over them but it’s just not what I expect when I get a Ludacris album. I want to hear Luda’s incredible lyricism (definitely in this album) and those classic dirty southern rap beats. I think a few of my favorite songs are the ones featuring other artists like jay-z, lil wayne, nas and common. T.I. even has a spot but wasn’t very memorable. The single that’s out now, One More Drink, has a cute little public service announcement at the end where Luda encourages people to have a few drinks and stop discriminating on people because of their physical features. Light hearted and humorous, like the Ludacris we know. Overall, a good album. The last few tracks are the highlights so go pick it up and give it a listen.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*